My 2014 Neil Gaiman Thread

Over the course of 2014 I bought lots of different books. Usually I ended up purchasing something after having borrowed a title from my local library. Others I had to buy because Neil Gaiman was involved and I love his work, such as The Art of Neil Gaiman by Hayley Campbell. Must have for fans!

Neil Gaiman books plus Amanda Palmer's Art of Asking

Why, you may ask, is the Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer in the photo? Well, she’s married to Neil Gaiman; that’s a minor detail here but they look so good together. The more important factor is why she wrote the book. If you haven’t seen her TED talk, which has over 6.3 million views, you have to go and watch it now. It’s a great way to start off the new year. And pick up her new book; I’m in the midst of reading my copy. A quote from her website: “Expanding upon her widely popular TED Talk from 2013- the book continues to explore the ways in which ‘asking’ and ‘giving’ play vital roles in today’s artistic communities, and our lives in general.”

(A little background: I went to see AFP’s concert a few years ago in San Diego because her husband was going to do a reading during the event. I didn’t know much about this musician/social media queen at the time but after her concert I began to follow her on Twitter. I fell in love with her creative spirit, compassion and energy the more I got to know her online. If you have any opportunity to see this duo in a collaborative project, take it!)

The other little hardcover, The Sleeper and the Spindle, was specifically sold as a limited edition during the first ever California Bookstore Day back in May to help support local independent bookstores. I bought my copy at mysterious galaxy books; the staff and selection are excellent! There’s a larger, illustrated version of The Sleeper on sale now.

Rothfuss and baby
Rothfuss gently holding an audience member’s baby at the mysterious galaxy book signing.

I’m also a fan of Patrick Rothfuss. He’s a great writer and a generous person. Last October he put out the novella, The Slow Regard of Silent Things, which focuses on Auri, a mysterious girl from the Kingkiller Chronicle. After I finished reading it, my2104 b heart felt full. I got a richer sense of who Auri is and loved getting a small glimpse into her life.

Inside The Slow Regard

I have to mention that every year since 2008 Patrick Rothfuss and his team of awesome run a fundraiser under the name Worldbuilders to raise money for Heifer International. In a 2008 blog post the author explains why he runs Worldbuilders. The thread here is Mr. Gaiman helps him raise money for the charity in one form or another. This year a stretch goal was reached, a video was made one cold, early morning, and Neil Gaiman reads Jabberwocky was born.

What book adventures do you look forward to in 2015? I like the surprising, unexpected ones the best.

Have a Happy New Year everyone!

My 2014 Neil Gaiman Thread

Leave a Reply

